Our Tru Hikers

This section is completely dedicated to the IAT-QC thru-hikers. 

The IAT-QC recognizes anyone who reports the completion of the entire Trail.  The IAT-QC policy is to operate on an honor system, assuming that those who apply, have hiked all of the IAT-QC between Matapédia and Cap Gaspe (Quebec), either as a Thru-hiker or in sections.

We are inviting you, hikers, thru-hikers, to let us know about you, by filling out the application form to obtain a Certificate of recognition - Thru-Hikers.

 

CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION-THRU-HIKERS

We will add , with your consent, your name to our official list of Grand Hiker. (We provide you texe describing, photos, experiences like hiker, your goals, your motivation...)

Application Form   IAT-QC Questionnaire - Hikers

 

Below the names of certain persons who have obtained a certificate of Grand Hiker .

Thank you for sharing your experience !

This section is for you!

 

John Hildebrand alias Sycamore

 I finished at Cap Gaspe on Aug 6th 2015!!!!!
 
Thank you so much for everything that you did for my hike!!!  It was amazing, incredible, and awesome!!!
 
The people and the scenery were so much better than I expected!!!!

 

Jean-Claude and Lyne Gingras, Richard Brousseau, Laurence Caufriez

Crossed by hiking trail section from 2009 to 2014.

 

Simon Bourk, aka Spaz Mcgee

bourk_recadre.jpg

Simon Bourk
Live the crossing of the Appalaches from Gaspe Coast down until Georgia in United States with a man who is passionned by the outdoors and challenge.  Follow him during eight months filled with adventure, new places and new encounters, while he will be walking over 4574 kilometres across two Canadian provinces and twelve states.   All relevant information is on his Internet site and his blog (in French only) which are often up-dated.  Some updates will be posted in English.

Simon Bourk's Blog and Internet Site:  

Isabelle Lacharme

 

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

 

If this happened in the Third day of my trip, in Forillon Park.

I was walking path not large enough singing backpacking. I saw in the distance (about 35 m, the car I'm nearsighted), a black spot on the edge of the woods ... Who moved (But not stain wood). I thought FIRST Whether it was a dog THEN adjusting my glasses I Thought That It was our youth.

I kept silent and I stopped and Whereas net. So I Heard a noise in the woods behind the animals ... and He Is back in the woods QUICKLY without Pushing his curiosity to me. But ... the noise in the woods If approached me and I saw ... A female ours come to my meeting, slipping behind the first row of trees. If it is DETERMINED to my height, either about 5 m From where I was, and if it is standing on its hind legs. Was she behind PIN A red (not sure of my knowledge trees) and a shake OPEN A small trees around her.

She never grumbles ... From my side, I think of my dried fish What I had in my backpack and INSTRUCTIONS read on the internet about a Possible meeting with a bear. I got compliant, ie I face the animal without looking in my eyes, I'm talking about him with my sweet voice apologizing to Be an intruder in his Natural environment is He and high demand to let me pass only. Je tinting my bell and I expected she sort of hiding his evil is to whistle in her ears. But she remained Where It Was. I did the Prime Minister Made motion backwards In no UN IN THE SENSE Where I had to pour me say to her face. OTHER THEN A step ... and so on SEVERAL meters, slowly and to ring my bell.

She let me go and I took time to dare to turn around and go my way at a normal pace . I looked for a moment over my shoulder if she was following me . But I saw nothing .

Walkers met later listened to my story and turned back , too afraid to meet her. It seems not to have fear, because in my mind and not my emotions at this time. Am I naive or completely unaware of the danger?

John Stough, aka Plugger John

john_stough2_2009_06_19.jpg

 

John Stough, alias Plugger John,  hike the IAT from Maine to Quebec in 2009. This picture was took on June 19 at the entrance of the Matane Wildlife Reserve.

This table presents an assessment of distances and the time required between each step, for sections of Maine, New Brunswick and Quebec. It was designed by John on his hike and it will be useful to create your itinerary, but it is important to note that there were additions of hosting site since this table was created.

 

On July 7th, John Stouhg sent a email.  Here it is.

Hello again,
Now at the internet cafe at Mont-Louis for a quick note before pushing on.
The Matane section certainly has more fauna than people. Encounters with:
Moose 7, Hikers 2, Beavers-in-the-middle-of-the=trail 1. The 15 km section between Lac Beaulieu and Le Petit Sault is very time consuming.
A fast experienced hiker as well as Tank took 9 hours to finish, an average hiker 12 hours, and a slow hiker like me in the rain 14 hours.  Anyone going north from the summit of Mt. Nicole Albert to Le Petit Sault should be sure to have 4 to 6 hours of daylight.  In case of darkness, the trail is hazardous and there is no place to pull off for an emergency camp site.

The Gaspesie section alone is worth the trip. Even a pragmatist like me was impressed with the views and enjoyed a seat-of-the-pants tobaggon slide across the snow on Mont Albert. Met Tank on June 30 as he zoomed past me.  Must be almost in Newfoundland by now. 
Am looking forward to the final sunny coastal home stretch and should be at Cap Gaspe by June 25 and then back to  Maine to summit Katahdin on June 30. This will probably be the last update from the trail.  Will send a written report with a few observations and suggestions toward increasing the number of hikers when I get  back to Boston.

Until then Bonne Chance and Bonne Route to all!
Plugger John

Ron Woodworth

2009

Ron Woodworth is from Howell, Michigan.

On August 18th Ron wrote that he was off the trail for personnal reason and was wrinting some lines about his hike.(09-09-22)

[...]I had a great time, lonely at times compounded by not knowing French but met some very nice people along the way.  In fact not one negative about the Quebec people.  The views, so many great pictures.  The wildlife, the only animal I did not see was a bear, and that is ok with me :)

On July 30th, he should start hiking from Cap Gaspe and he plans on reaching Matapedia on August 28th.  To be continued...

Thomas Cruson, aka Tank

2009

Except for the buying of an accommodation passport and for some comments refering to him that were made by John Stough, the IAT-QC did not receive any information from Thomas Cruson until he was back home.  Little did we about his doings until he wrote to the heads of three IAT chapters (Maine, Nova Scotia, and Newfound Land) on August 31rst.

According to Richard Anderson, head of the Maine IAT chapter, "Tank" makes 90 thru-hikers from Katahdin to Cap Gaspe and 15 [thru-hikers from] Katahdin to Crow Head [Newfound Land]. He is the first one to include Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia.


He finished hiking the IAT through Maine, New Brunswick, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and Newfound Land on August 23rd.

Ursula Struder

2007

Ursula Struder is from Wabern, Swiss.  She is now hiking in the Matapedia Valley section and she is heading towards the Matane Wild Life Reserve. (09-08-07).

Walter Schwannen and Émilie Curnier

2007

Walter Schwannen and Émilie Curnier are from Montreal, Quebec.  They have not started yet, but they should any time soon! (09-08-07)

Ray Hicks, aka 93 Octane

Last year, Ray crossed the whole IAT, stating from Mount Katahdin in Maine.  This year, he came back with two friends to finish the Gaspe Coast section and finished in 10 days the crossing of the IAT in Nova Scotia.  He is now heading towards new summits.  To be continued...

Antoine Provost and Louis Martin Pilote

These two young men, aged 17 and 18, will begin soon a journey that will lead them from John Post, at the entrance of the Matane Wild Life Reserve, to Mont-Saint-Pierre in the Upper Gaspe.  Their goal is to hike during twenty days without any help.  They took their motivation into the desire to see the beauty of the trail, of the mountains, and of the landscapes.  They will give a report when they are back.  To be continued...

Boy Scouts of America - Troop 1776 - Neshanic, NJ

A year ago, scout Tim Cropley had come up with the idea of doing a Venture trek to the IAT/SIA after reading a story about the IAT in Backpacker Magazine. He approached the Troop leadership with a proposal for a trek.  The trek was approved and he and his fellow crew members began to plan out all the details of their journey. The Trek began with a car ride from Hillsborough NJ to the New Brunswick, NJ train station, from there a train to New York City's Penn Station. Next was a 10+ hour train to Montreal, Canada with an overnight stay in the city. The next day began an 18 hour train ride out to Gaspe Canada via Rail Canada. The views of the Canadian countryside were outstanding. Once we arrived in Gaspe, we took a taxi ride to the trailhead where we would be starting. We began at the 81 Kilometer point. This was up along a ridge overlooking the St. Lawrence Seaway.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

2 km after starting we came to a beautiful view with a historic lighthouse (Pointe-a-la-Renommee).

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

The trail goes through a small park here and then travels 4 km along the shore to the Village of Anse-a-Valleau.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

The next 26 km goes through some back country which is owned by logging companies. The trail is less traveled and in places, nature is trying to take it back.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Beavers had flooded many streams and in one location, the trail was rerouted to actually cross along the top of a Beaver Dam.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

We then reached Forillion National Park for the final stages of the trek, The trails and scenery were absolutely beautiful. As we approached the end the trail runs along the Gaspe Bay shoreline and the views just kept getting better.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image  Cliquez pour agrandir cette image  Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

We got some nice pictures of a moose who was resting in the woods off the trail.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

We finally arrived at Cap Gaspe and the famous light house there.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image  Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

There was a nice set of plaques at the end of the trail as well we then hiked back along the trail to reach a campground in the Park (Petite Gaspe). From there we took a taxi back to town and then the train back home.

It was a beautiful and natural section of trail and a journey we will all remember for the rest of our days.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Michelle Goulet and Brigitte Desjardins

Michelle and Brigitte are from Sherbrooke, Quebec.

Mikael Swirp and Tara Templin

More information may come later on.

Some dates :

  • Start in Matapedia on July 9th.
  • Were in Amqui on July 17th.
  • Should have been in the Matane Wild Life Reserve on July 19th.
  • On August 1rst, they had completed most of the Gaspesie National Park.
  • They expect to reach Cap Gaspe on August 14th.

Nos grands randonneurs

Cette rubrique est entièrement consacrée à rendre hommage aux Grands Randonneurs qui relèvent le défi de la traversée du SIA.

Le SIA-QC reconnaît toute personne qui rapporte l'achèvement du Sentier International des Appalaches.  La politique du SIA-QC est de compter sur un système d'honneur, supposant que ceux qui appliquent, ont parcouru au complet le SIA-QC entre Matapédia et Cap Gaspé (Québec) comme Grand-Randonneur ou par section du Sentier.

Certificat de Reconnaissance Grand-Randonneur

   

Avis à vous, Grand Randonneurs, nous vous invitons à vous faire connaître en remplissant le formulaire de demande pour l'obtention d'un Certificat de reconnaissance - Grand Randonneur.

Formulaire   Questionnaire SIA-QC - Randonneur

 

Nous ajouterons, avec votre consentement, votre nom à notre liste officielle de Grand Randonneur.  (Nous fournir un texe vous décrivant, photos, expériences comme randonneur, vos objectifs, vos motivations...)

Voici ci-dessous le nom de certaines personnes qui ont obtenu un certificat de Grand-Randonneur.

Merci de partager votre expérience! 
Cette section est pour vous!

 

John Hildebrand alias Sycamore

Je finis à Cap Gaspé le 6 août 2015 !!!!!
 
Merci beaucoup pour tout ce que vous avez fait pour ma randonnée !!! Elle était incroyable, incroyable, et extraordinaire !!!
 
Les gens et les paysages étaient tellement mieux que je m'y attendais !!!!

Jean-Claude et Lyne Gingras, Richard Brousseau, Laurence Caufriez

Sentier traversé par section, de 2009 à 2014.

 

Balu & Hives

 

 

Deux grands randonneurs américains qui ont fait la grande traversée du SIA-QC en 2013. Nous vous invitons à visiter leur site internet pour plus d'informations.

Site internet

Simon Bourk, alias Spaz Mcgee

 

Simon Bourk

2012-2013
Découvrez l’histoire de la traversée des Appalaches de la Côte-de-Gaspé à la Géorgie aux États-Unis par un passionné de défi et de plein air. C’est 8 mois d’aventure avec plus de 4574 km de marche, deux provinces canadiennes, 12 états américains et des milliers d’endroits et de gens à découvrir. Vous trouverez sur son site Internet et son blog tous les aspects pertinents de son parcours. Nous vous invitons à suivre tous les développements et prendre part de son aventure, car elle s’avère être aussi enrichissante pour le lecteur que le randonneur.  

Blogue et site Internet de Simon Bourk :  

Isabelle Lacharme

 

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

 

Cela s'est passé au troisième jour de mon trajet, dans le parc de Forillon.

Je marchais sur un chemin assez large en chantant, sac au dos. J'ai vu au loin (35 m environ, car je suis myope), une tache noire en bordure du  bois ... qui bougeait (la tache mais pas le bois). J'ai d'abord cru que c'était un chien puis en ajustant mes lunettes j'ai pensé que c'était un jeune ours.

Je me suis tu et arrêté net et j'ai attendu. J'ai entendu alors du bruit dans le bois derrière l'animal ... et il est rentré dans le bois rapidement, sans pousser sa curiosité jusqu'à moi. Mais ... le bruit dans le bois s'est rapproché de moi ... et j'ai vu une femelle ours venir à ma rencontre, en se glissant derrière la première rangée d'arbres. Elle s'est arrêtée à ma hauteur, soit à 5 m environ d'où j'étais et elle s'est dressée sur les pattes arrière. Elle était derrière un pin rouge (pas sûre de mes connaissances en arbres) et a commencé à secouer les petits arbres autour d'elle.

Elle n'a jamais grogné ... De mon côté, j'ai pensé à mon poisson séché que j'avais dans mon sac à dos et aux consignes lues sur internet au sujet d'une rencontre éventuelle avec un ours. Je m'y suis conformé, c'est à dire que j'ai fait face à l'animal sans le regarder dans les yeux, je lui ai parlé avec ma voix douce en m'excusant d'être une intruse dans son milieu naturel et lui demandant de seulement me laisser passer. Je faisais teinter ma clochette et j'attendais qu'elle sorte de sa mauvaise cachette pour lui siffler dans les oreilles. Mais elle restait là où elle était. J'ai donc fait le premier mouvement en reculant d'un pas, dans le sens où je devais aller, pour m'affirmer face à elle. Puis un autre pas ... et ainsi de suite sur plusieurs mètres, tout doucement et en faire tinter ma clochette.

Elle m'a laissée partir et j'ai mis du temps à oser me retourner et à continuer mon chemin d'un pas normal. J'ai regardé un moment par-dessus mon épaule si elle me suivait. Mais je n'ai rien vu.

Des promeneurs rencontrés plus loin ont écouté mon histoire et ont rebroussé chemin, ayant trop peur de la rencontrer. Il me semble ne pas avoir eu peur, car dans mon intellect et non dans mes émotions à ce moment-là. Suis-je naïve ou complètement inconsciente du danger ?

John Stough, alias Plugger John

john_stough2_2009_06_19.jpg

John Stough, alias Plugger John, a parcouru le SIA du Maine (Houlton) au Québec (Cap-Gaspé) en 2009 et le lien suivant vous présente un tableau des distances qui pourra vous servir pour votre randonnée sur le SIA.  Photo prise le 19 juin, alors qu’il débutait la traversée de la réserve faunique de Matane.

TABLEAU  : Une contribution de Plugger John pour les futurs grands randonneurs... (2009-09-18)

Le 7 juillet 2009, John Stough écrivait de Mont-Louis.  Voici la traduction de son courriel.

Bonjour encore,
Je suis présentement au café internet de Mont-Louis pour un bref message avant de repartir de plus bel. La réserve faunique de Matane est en effet plus riche en animaux qu’en personnes. Rencontrés : orignaux 7, randonneurs 2, castor au milieu de la piste 1. Les 15 km séparant le Lac Beaulieu et Le Petit Sault sont très long à traverser.

Un randonneur rapide et expérimenté comme Tank prend 9 heures, un randonneur moyen, 12 heures et un randonneur lent comme moi dans la pluie prend 14 heures. Tout ceux qui vont vers le  nord à partir du sommet du mont Nicol-Albert, vers le Petit-Sault, doivent être s’assurer d’avoir entre 4 et 6 heures de clarté. En cas de noirceur, le sentier devient dangereux et il n’y pas d’endroit près de la piste pour camper en cas d’urgence.

La section de la Gaspésie à elle seule vaut le voyage.  Même un pragmatique comme moi a été impressionné par les paysages et s’est laissé allé à une glissade sur les fesses dans la neige du mont Albert.  J’ai rencontré Tank le 30 juin alors qu’il a filé devant moi.  Il doit être près de Terre-Neuve maintenant.
J’ai hâte de marcher la portion finale de la Côte et je devrais être à Cap Gaspé le 25 juin [sic] et de retour au Maine pour monter le mont Katahdin le 30 juin [sic].  Ce sera sûrement la dernière mise à jour que je fais en randonnée.  Je vais envoyer un rapport écrit avec des observations et des suggestions, afin d’augmenter le nombre de randonneurs lorsque je serai de retour à Boston.

Until then Bonne Chance and Bonne Route to all!
Plugger John

Ron Woodworth

2009

Ron Woodworth est de Howell, Michigan.

Ron a écrit quant il était hors des sentiers pour des raisons personnelles et a écrit quelques lignes au sujet de sa randonnée. (09/09/22 )

[ ... ] J'était souvent seul et surtout quant il fallait parler français, mais j'ai rencontré des gens très sympas le long du chemin. Les points de vue font de superbes photos. La faune, le seul animal que je n’ai pas vu était un ours :)

Le 30 Juillet, il devrait commencer la randonnée du Cap Gaspé et il prévoit atteindre Matapédia le 28 Août. À suivre ...

Thomas Cruson, aka Tank

2009

Sauf pour l'achat d'un passeport hébergement et quelques conseils de John Stough, le SIA-Qc n'a reçu aucune information de Thomas Cruson jusqu'à ce qu'il était à la maison. Nous ne connaissions pas son parcours jusqu'à ce qu'il a écrive aux chefs des trois chapitres IAT (Maine, la Nouvelle-Écosse, et Newfound Land) le 31 Août.

Selon Richard Anderson, chef de la section Maine IAT, "Tank" fait 90 passe- randonneurs de Katahdin à Cap Gaspé et 15 [ thru - randonneurs de ] Katahdin à Crow Head [ Neuve Terre ] . Il est le premier à inclure l'Île du Prince -Édouard et de la Nouvelle -Écosse.

Il a terminé la randonnée l’IAT par le Maine, le Nouveau-Brunswick, le Québec, la Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre -Neuve et le 23 Août.

Ursula Struder

2007

Ursula Struder est originaire de Wabern, en Suisse. Elle a marché dans la section de Matapédia jusqu'a la réserve faunique de Matane (09-08-07).

Walter Schwannen et Émilie Curnier

2007

Walter Schwannen et Émilie Curnier sont de Montréal, Québec. Ils n’ont pas encore commencé, mais ils devraient bientôt le faire ! (08/09/07)

Ray Hicks, aka 93 Octane

L'an dernier, Ray traversa toute IAT, indiquant du mont Katahdin, dans le Maine. Cette année, il est revenu avec deux amis pour terminer la section Gaspésie et a terminé en 10 jours la traversée de l’IAT en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il se dirige maintenant vers de nouveaux sommets. À suivre ...

Antoine Provost et Louis Martin Pilote

Ces deux jeunes hommes, âgés de 17 et 18, vont bientôt commencer un voyage qui les mènera du poste John, à l'entrée de la réserve faunique de Matane, à Mont-Saint-Pierre dans la Haute Gaspésie. Leur but est de partir en randonnée pendant vingt jours sans aucune aide. Ils ont pris leur motivation dans le désir de voir la beauté du sentier, des montagnes et des paysages.

Boy Scouts of America - Troop 1776 - Neshanic, NJ

Tim Cropley était venu avec l'idée de faire un trek à l' IAT / SIA après avoir lu une histoire sur l' IAT dans Backpacker Magazine. Il se approcha de la troupe avec une proposition pour un trek. Le trek a été approuvé, lui et ses membres d'équipage ont commencé à planifier tous les détails de leur voyage. Le Trek a commencé par un trajet en voiture de Hillsborough NJ à la gare NJ Nouveau-Brunswick, à partir de là un train pour la gare Penn Station de New York City. Le suivant était un train de 10+ heures à Montréal, Canada avec un séjour d'une nuit dans la ville. Le lendemain, on a pris un train de 18 heures Ride Out à Gaspé Canada VIA Rail Canada. Les vues de la campagne canadienne... Une fois que nous sommes arrivés à Gaspé, nous avons pris un taxi jusqu'au début du sentier. Nous avons commencé au point 81. C'était le long d'une crête surplombant la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

2 km après le début nous sommes arrivés à une belle vue avec un phare historique (Pointe-à-la-Renommée).

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Le sentier passe par un petit parc, puis se déplace 4 km le long du rivage au Village de l'Anse-à-Valleau.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Les prochains 26 km passent par un arrière-pays qui est détenue par les sociétés forestières. Le sentier est moins voyagé et dans les lieux, la nature tente de reprendre le dessus.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Beavers avait inondé de nombreux cours d'eau et dans un seul endroit, le sentier a été dérouté pour réellement traverser le long du haut d'un Beaver Dam.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Nous avons ensuite atteint le parc national Forillion pour les phases finaux de la randonnée, les sentiers et les paysages étaient absolument magnifiques. Nous approchions de la fin, le sentier longe la rive la baie de Gaspé et les paysages étaient toujours aussi beaux.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image  Cliquez pour agrandir cette image Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Nous avons eu de belles photos d'un orignal qui se reposait dans les bois au large de la piste.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Nous sommes finalement arrivés à Cap Gaspé et de la célèbre maison de la lumière.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image  Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Il y avait une belle série de plaques à la fin de la piste ainsi nous avons fait une randonnée le long de la piste pour atteindre un terrain de camping dans le parc (Petite Gaspésie). De là, nous avons pris un taxi pour rentrer à la ville, puis le train pour rentrer à la maison.

C'était une section belle et naturelle de sentier et un voyage dont nous nous souviendrons tous pour le reste de nos jours.

Cliquez pour agrandir cette image

Michelle Goulet et Brigitte Desjardins

Michelle et Brigitte sont de Sherbrooke, Québec.

Mikael Swirp et Tara Templin

Plus d'informations peut venir plus tard.

Quelques dates :

  • Commencez à Matapédia le 9 Juillet.
  • Étaient à Amqui le 17 Juillet.
  • Aurait dû être dans la réserve faunique de Matane, le 19 Juillet.
  • Le 1er Août, ils avaient terminé la plupart du Parc national de la Gaspésie.
  • Ils s’attendent à atteindre Cap Gaspé le 14 Août.