Haute-Gaspésie

Access to the trail is FREE for the Haute-Gaspésie section

Download the Maps

To buy the paper topographic map click

From Gaspésie national park to Grande-Vallée, 106 km

Following a path leading you successively in the forest, in the mountains and on the seaside, being able to observe deer, gallinaceous and cetaceans, this is enough to satisfy the appetite of any hiker. Along this route from village to village, no one can escape the charm of Haute-Gaspésie and the legendary welcome of its inhabitants.

 

Two days are necessary to pass from the Gaspésie national park to the seaside, between the Mont-Jacques-Cartier campsite and Mont-Saint-Pierre, of which the Cabourons refuge is the intermediate stage. Overlooking the glacial valley of the Mont-Saint-Pierre river, its panoramic view lets glimpse the Saint-Laurent river which you will join at the end of the second day of walking. After the municipal campsite of Mont-Saint-Pierre, you will then discover the picturesque village of Mont-Saint-Pierre, internationally recognized by free flight enthusiasts.

 

Thereafter, from village to village, you will then witness the life and culture of the Gaspé. The path first ascends very aerial Mont Saint-Pierre and descends soon after towards Mont-Louis. It then follows the old Chemin du Roy which is still passable today to join the Anse-Pleureuse. This same path becomes very steep in the direction of Gros-Morne and a path built along the capes allows you to have the St. Lawrence at your feet. Manche-d'Épée is the next stage, a section also characterized by a breathtaking view from the air. Then come Madeleine-Center and Rivière-Madeleine, two villages crossed by the SIA which follows route 132. To reach Grande-Vallée, you must leave the coast and go through the Grand-Saut campsite by following the path which runs along the Madeleine river. . From there, the SIA takes a forest path that also serves as a snowmobile trail. The arrival in Grande-Vallée is by a big descent along the road 132 with its colorful landscapes.

 International Appalachian Trail of Quebec

 968 Avenue du Phare O, Matane, (Québec) G4W 1V7

 Tél. 418-560-4642 | Email : infosiaquebec@gmail.com 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

© 2020 by Alexis Turcotte- Noël and Isabelle Paquet

Haute-Gaspésie

L'accès au sentier est GRATUIT pour la section Haute-Gaspésie 

Cartes Topos

Pour acheter la carte topographique en papier cliquez 

Du parc national de la Gaspésie à Grande-Vallée, 106 km

Suivre un sentier vous conduisant successivement en forêt, en montagne et sur le bord de la mer, pouvoir y observer des cervidés, des gallinacés et des cétacés,  voilà de quoi satisfaire l’appétit de tout randonneur. Le long de ce parcours de village en village, nul ne peux échapper au charme de la Haute-Gaspésie et au légendaire accueil de ses habitants.

Deux jours sont nécessaires pour passer du parc national de la Gaspésie au bord de mer, entre le camping du Mont-Jacques-Cartier et Mont-Saint-Pierre, dont le refuge des Cabourons est l’étape intermédiaire. Surplombant la vallée glaciaire de la rivière Mont-Saint-Pierre, sa vue panoramique laisse entrevoir le fleuve Saint-Laurent que vous rejoindrez au terme de la seconde journée de marche. Passé le camping municipal de Mont-Saint-Pierre, vous découvrez alors le village pittoresque de Mont-Saint-Pierre, reconnu internationalement par les adeptes du vol libre.

Par la suite, de village en village, vous serez alors témoins de la vie et de la culture gaspésienne. Le sentier fait d’abord l’ascension très aérienne du mont Saint-Pierre pour redescendre peu après vers Mont-Louis. Il suit par après l'ancien Chemin du Roy qui est encore carrossable de nos jours pour rejoindre l'Anse-Pleureuse. Ce même chemin devient très abrupt en direction de Gros-Morne et un sentier aménagé en bordure des caps permet d'avoir le Saint-Laurent à ses pieds. Manche-d'Épée est l'étape suivante, section aussi caractérisée par un époustouflant point de vue très aérien. Puis viennent Madeleine-Centre et Rivière-Madeleine, deux villages traversés par le SIA qui suit la route 132. Il faut pour rejoindre Grande-Vallée quitter la côte et passer par le camping du Grand-Saut en suivant le chemin qui longe la rivière Madeleine. De là, le SIA emprunte un chemin forestier servant aussi de piste de motoneige. L'arrivée à Grande-Vallée se fait par une grande descente en bordure de la route 132 avec ses paysages hauts en couleurs.

Sentier International des Appalaches - Québec

 968 Avenue du Phare O, Matane, (Québec) G4W 1V7

 Tél. 418-560-4642 | Courriel : infosiaquebec@gmail.com 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

© 2020 par Alexis Turcotte- Noël et Isabelle Paquet Collaboration Serge Métral