Gaspésie National Park

A daily access fee is required in Gaspésie National Park

Mont Jacques-Cartier to Mont Logan 103.1 km

In the heart of the Gaspé Peninsula are some of the highest mountains in Quebec. The Logan, Albert, Xalibu or Jacques-Cartier mountains have an altitude of more than 1,000 meters, but they also have the particularity of welcoming hikers of the International Appalachian Trail.

You can cross the Parc de la Gaspésie from east to west on the 99.5 km long hiking trail. This section was the first to be incorporated into the International Appalachian Trail and added to the large network of daily hikes.

The high mountains of the park are crowned with alpine tundras. In the middle of summer, here and there, patches of snow are slow to melt. Rare conifers are twisted by merciless winters. Colorful flowers brighten up rocky ground. Caribou roam in search of meager pastures. All these characteristics which contribute to making Chic-Chocs a very spectacular place to hike.

Driving within the Parc de la Gaspésie implies compliance with certain rules:

  • You must reserve your place in a refuge or in one of the campsites. Wilderness camping is not allowed in the Park.

  • All waste including biodegradable waste must be brought back: there is no trash in shelters.

  • The hiker must stay on the trails. Trampling has a destructive impact on arctic-alpine vegetation.

For the safety of hikers and for the protection of the natural environment, the long hike in the Parc de la Gaspésie is only offered in summer. Indeed, before mid-June, several portions of trails are blocked by snow!

In October, access to the summit of the Albert, Jacques-Cartier and Xalibu mountains is prohibited. The purpose of this measure is to prevent disturbance of the caribou during the rutting period.

 

PR® Gaspésie National Park

These maps are made available to give you a general idea of the trail. However, if you are planning a hike, you should purchase topographic maps, which give more information on distances, access trails and accommodation sites. Even if you are planning a short hike, it is strongly recommended that you purchase the map of the area you want to walk. Finally, it will be easier for SIA - Qc employees to help you if you have a topographic map in hand.

 International Appalachian Trail of Quebec

 968 Avenue du Phare O, Matane, (Québec) G4W 1V7

 Tél. 418-560-4642 | Email : infosiaquebec@gmail.com 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

© 2020 by Alexis Turcotte- Noël and Isabelle Paquet

Parc national de la Gaspésie

Un droit d'accès quotidien est exigé dans le Parc national de la Gaspésie 

parcdelagaspésie_sepaq.jpg

Description de la section du Parc national de la Gaspésie

Au coeur de la Gaspésie se trouvent des montagnes parmi les plus hautes du Québec. Les monts Logan, Albert, Xalibu ou Jacques-Cartier ont une altitude de plus de 1000 mètres, mais ils ont aussi la particularité d'accueillir les randonneurs du Sentier international des Appalaches.

On peut traverser le parc de la Gaspésie d'est en ouest par le sentier de longue randonnée de 99,5 km. Ce tronçon fut le premier à être incorporé au Sentier international des Appalaches et s'est ajouté à l'important réseau de randonnées quotidiennes.

Les hautes montagnes du parc sont couronnées de toundras alpines. En plein été, ici et là, des plaques de neige tardent à fondre. De rares conifères sont tordus par des hivers sans merci. Des fleurs colorées égaient un sol rocheux. Des caribous errent à la recherche de maigres pâturages. Autant de caractéristiques qui contribuent à faire des Chic-Chocs une lieu de randonnée fort spectaculaire.

Circuler à l'intérieur du parc de la Gaspésie implique le respect de certaines règles :

  • On doit obligatoirement réserver sa place en refuge ou dans un des campings aménagés. Le camping sauvage n'est pas autorisé dans le Parc.

  • Tous les déchets y compris ceux biodégradables doivent être rapportés: il n'y a pas de poubelle dans les refuges.

  • Le randonneur doit demeurer dans les sentiers. Le piétinement a un impact destructeur sur la végétation arctique-alpine.

Pour la sécurité des randonneurs et pour la protection du milieu naturel, la longue randonnée au parc de la Gaspésie n'est offerte qu'en période estivale. En effet, avant la mi-juin, plusieurs portions de sentiers sont bloquées par la neige!

Au mois d'octobre, l'accès au sommet des monts Albert, Jacques-Cartier et Xalibu est interdit. Cette mesure a pour but d'empêcher le dérangement des caribous pendant la période de rut.

PR® Parc national de la Gaspésie

Réseaux Cellulaire

Sur certains sommets seulement, profitez-en et soyez prudent.

Vous pouvez consulter la carte de couverture TELUS pour vous donner une idée plus visuelle de la situation du réseau cellulaire, et ce, peu importe votre fournisseur de service.