Matane Wildlife Reserve

Access to the trail is FREE for the Matane Wildlife Reserve section

Maps

PaP_Logo_.png

East sector: from Lac Beaulieu to Mont Logan, 34.5 km

Tundra, permafrost and caribou

The portion of the International Appalachian Trail that is under the responsibility of the Haut-Pays-de-Cap-Chat committee is located in the central part of the Chic-Chocs mountain range. From Lac Beaulieu, in the heart of the Matane wildlife reserve to Mont Logan at the western end of Parc national de la Gaspésie, this part of the trail is considered the most difficult in SIA-Quebec, but also one of the most beautiful!

This 34.5 km section of the AIS includes several long uphill and downhill runs, such as the Nicol-Albert, Collins and Fortin mountains, among others. The 747 m drop in height from Mount Nicol-Albert is in itself an important challenge that should not be taken lightly.

From Lac Beaulieu to Mont Nicol-Albert, the trail circulates in a wooded area from summit to summit, occasionally offering viewpoints that provide an excuse to stop. Then he arrives at the "snowman" monolith which is on a 700-meter escarpment and then literally plunges along the Beaulieu stream, which shelters 13 spectacular falls. After these vertical shows, he crosses the Cap-Chat river on a footbridge just above the Petit-Sault salmon sanctuary. There is a rustic campsite nearby, on the edge of road 1. You can access this site by car from Cap-Chat, along the river for 40 km.

2 km from the Petit-Sault campsite to the north, you can take a nice easy hike to go to Hélène waterfall (70 m high), which is 4 km from the Ruisseau-Bascon bridge on Route 1. Further on, the Ruisseau-Bascon campsite allows you to stop before approaching the famous Collins and Matawees mountains with their alpine meadows. Next comes Mont Fortin and its sharp ridge which marks the entrance to the Gaspésie National Park and finally, the majestic Mont Logan and its refuge, the Pic-de-l'Aigle, firmly anchored at its summit. It is the country of permafrost, witness of a harsh and austere climate and last shelter for the woodland caribou.

West sector: from Matane River to Beaulieu Lake - 72 km

From summit to summit

The portion of the international Appalachian trail under the responsibility of the Matane committee covers the western part of the Chic-choc mountain range. Of the 72 kilometers of linear path found there, 66 are found in the Matane wildlife reserve. Hikers can choose from multiple day hikes or long hikes with rustic camping accommodations.

Moving west to east, the trail first runs along the Matane River for more than 6 kilometers before reaching John Station, which marks the official entrance to the reserve. The river follows the path for another 3.5 kilometers before entering the first ascent. What interests: rapids, ponds, canals, pits, beaver dam, walkways, etc. Then it is the climb to the first summit to then follow the southern escarpment of the Chic-shock mountains, at an average altitude of 500 to 600 meters. We discover beautiful panoramas of the Matane river valley, the southern part of the peninsula and the surrounding lakes. It is also the kingdom of the moose and the territory of the golden eagle. Two couples nest in this area. Observe well. The path then descends before embarking on the demanding climb of the Mont de l'Ouest, which rises to 922 meters. The summit offers a beautiful panorama to the east and several streams dotted with waterfalls and falls crisscross the massif. Beautiful views of Lake Matane also precede the descent. What a marvel that this narrow body of water surrounded by high mountains.

The path then begins to climb the narrow mountain ridge that overlooks the eastern shore of the lake. It offers superb views of the lake and the deep valley of Desjarlais Creek. A beautiful bog is crossed before arriving at the peak which offers a breathtaking view of the chain of lakes and the massif of Mont de l'Ouest. The Gros Ruisseau lake and a series of peaks dot the route which leads to Mont Pointu (930 meters) and Mont Craggy (846 meters) which, through their rocky promontories, offer very beautiful, sometimes dizzying, views. vast expanse of forest that stretches at their feet and on the St. Lawrence River in the distance. The descent of Mount Craggy presents remarkable views of the neighboring Mont Blanc and the pass that connects them. The ascent of Mont Blanc, which culminates at 1065 meters, is rewarded with wide panoramas. We then see all the way traveled. The krummohlz forest leads to the impressive and rough north flow then to the beautiful alpine meadow which opens onto the majestic mountain panorama which extends to the east. The meeting of an alpine bog precedes arrival at the clearing which reveals a splendid view of Lake Beaulieu, Lake T and the surrounding mountains. The campsite is below.

 International Appalachian Trail of Quebec

 968 Avenue du Phare O, Matane, (Québec) G4W 1V7

 Tél. 418-560-4642 | Email : infosiaquebec@gmail.com 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

© 2020 by Alexis Turcotte- Noël and Isabelle Paquet

Réserve faunique de Matane

L'accès au sentier est GRATUIT pour la section Réserve faunique de Matane

Carte de la réserve

PaP_Logo_.png

Secteur est : du Lac Beaulieu au Mont Logan, 34,5 Km

Toundra, pergélisol et caribous

La portion du Sentier international des Appalaches qui est sous la responsabilité du comité du Haut-Pays-de-Cap-Chat se situe dans la partie centrale de la chaîne des monts Chic-Chocs.  Du lac Beaulieu, au coeur de la réserve faunique de Matane jusqu'au mont Logan à l'extrémité ouest du Parc national de la Gaspésie, cette partie du sentier est considérée la plus difficile du SIA-Québec, mais elle est aussi une des plus belles !

Cette section du SIA de 34,5 km comporte plusieurs longues montées et descentes soutenues, comme entre autre aux monts Nicol-Albert, Collins et Fortin. Le dénivelé de 747 m du mont Nicol-Albert est à lui seul un défi important qu'il ne faut pas surtout pas prendre à la légère.

Du lac Beaulieu au mont Nicol-Albert, le sentier circule en milieu boisé de sommet en sommet offrant à l'occasion des points de vue donnant prétexte à s'arrêter. Puis il arrive au monolithe du ''bonhomme'' qui se trouve sur un escarpement de 700 mètres et plonge ensuite littéralement le long du ruisseau Beaulieu qui abrite 13 chutes spectaculaires.  Après ces spectacles verticaux, il traverse la rivière Cap-Chat sur une passerelle juste au-dessus du sanctuaire de saumons du Petit-Sault.  Il y a là, tout près, un camping rustique en bordure de la route 1. On peut accéder à ce site en voiture à partir de Cap-Chat, en longeant la rivière sur 40 km.  

À 2 km du camping du Petit-Sault, vers le nord, on peut faire une belle randonnée facile pour aller à la chute Hélène (70 m de hauteur) qui se trouve à 4 km du pont du Ruisseau-Bascon sur la route 1.  Plus loin, le camping du Ruisseau-Bascon permet une halte avant d'aborder les fameux monts Collins et Matawees avec leurs prairies alpines. Vient ensuite le mont Fortin et sa crête affûtée qui marque l'entrée au Parc national de la Gaspésie et enfin, le majestueux mont Logan et son refuge, le Pic-de-l'Aigle, qui est solidement ancré à son sommet.  C'est le pays du pergélisol, témoin d'un climat rude et austère et dernier abri pour le caribou des bois.

Secteur ouest : de la rivière Matane au lac Beaulieu - 72 km

De sommet en sommet

La portion du Sentier international des Appalaches, sous la responsabilité du comité de Matane, couvre la partie occidentale de la chaîne des monts Chic-chocs. Des 72 kilomètres de sentier linéaire qu'on y trouve, 66 se retrouvent dans la réserve faunique de Matane. Le randonneur y a le choix de multiples randonnées d'un jour ou de longues randonnées avec hébergement en camping rustique.

En progressant d'ouest en est, le sentier longe d'abord la rivière Matane sur plus de 6 kilomètres avant de joindre le poste John qui marque l'entrée officielle de la réserve. La rivière accompagne le sentier sur encore 3,5 kilomètres avant d'aborder la première ascension. Que d'intérêts : rapides, étangs, canaux, fosses, barrages de castor, passerelles, etc. Puis c'est la montée vers le premier sommet pour ensuite longer l'escarpement sud des monts Chics-chocs à une altitude moyenne de 500 à 600 mètres. On y découvre de beaux panoramas sur la vallée de la rivière Matane, sur la partie sud de la péninsule et sur les lacs environnants. C'est aussi le royaume de l'orignal et du territoire de l'aigle royal. Deux couples nichent dans ce secteur.  Observez-les bien. Le sentier redescend ensuite avant d'entreprendre l'exigeante montée du mont de l'ouest qui culmine à 922 mètres. Le sommet offre un beau panorama vers l'est et plusieurs ruisseaux parsemés de cascades et de chutes sillonnent le massif. De beaux points de vue sur le lac Matane précèdent aussi la descente. Quelle merveille que cet étroit plan d'eau enserré par de hautes montagnes.

Le sentier entreprend ensuite la montée de l'étroite crête montagneuse qui surplombe la rive Est du lac. Celle-ci offre de superbes points de vue sur le lac et sur la profonde vallée du ruisseau Desjarlais. Une belle tourbière est croisée avant d'arriver au piton qui offre une vue imprenable sur la chaîne de lacs et sur le massif du mont de l'Ouest. Le lac du Gros Ruisseau puis une suite de sommets parsèment le parcours qui mène au mont Pointu (930 mètres) et au mont Craggy (846 mètres) qui par leurs promontoires rocheux, offrent de très beaux points de vue parfois vertigineux sur la vaste étendue forestière qui s'étend à leurs pieds et sur Le Saint-Laurent au loin. La descente du mont Craggy présente des vues remarquables sur le mont Blanc avoisinant et le col qui les relie. L'ascension du mont Blanc, qui culmine à 1065 mètres, est récompensée par de larges panoramas. On voit alors tout le chemin parcouru. La forêt de krummohlz mène à l'impressionnante et rude coulée nord puis à la belle prairie alpine qui s'ouvre sur le majestueux panorama de montagnes qui s'étend vers l'est. La rencontre d'une tourbière alpine précède l'arrivée à la clairière qui dévoile une splendide vue du lac Beaulieu, du lac T et des montagnes avoisinantes. Le camping est en contrebas.

Sentier International des Appalaches - Québec

 968 Avenue du Phare O, Matane, (Québec) G4W 1V7

 Tél. 418-560-4642 | Courriel : infosiaquebec@gmail.com 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

© 2020 par Alexis Turcotte-Noël et Isabelle Paquet Collaboration Serge Métral