Fauna and Flora

The mammals

The woodland caribou is surely the major wildlife attraction of SIA Quebec. The presence of caribou south of the St. Lawrence is an exceptional fact; the two hundred or so caribou are the last representatives of the herds that once lived in southern Quebec and the northern United States.

This population has undergone several fluctuations during its history. When the Parc de la Gaspésie was created in 1937, there were approximately 1,000 caribou. Many factors can cause a decline in population, such as predation, disease and human activities.

In order to give the best possible chance to the relic caribou herd, we suggest that, while hiking in the mountains, stay on the trails so as not to disturb them. Caribou have poor eyesight, so it is best to watch them not move. A curious animal, the caribou will be admired; thus, you will have satisfied your curiosity and hers without disturbing our hosts in their fragile habitat.

The Sentier International des Appalaches sector de la Gaspésie also stands out as being the only place in Quebec where we find our three deer: white-tailed deer, moose and woodland caribou.

There is also an unusual concentration of moose in some areas of the trail. Indeed, we observe the highest density of moose in Quebec, about 2 moose per km2. This large number of moose is largely due to 2 factors, namely the absence of hunting on the park territory since 1937 and a low predation in the latter.

During the summer season (spring and summer), you can frequently observe moose at the edge of water bodies at the beginning and at the end of the day. Some improvements are planned for this purpose, such as the Lac Paul observatory.

It is also possible to see the black bear, the coyote, the red fox, the beaver, etc. and a very small and rare species in Canada, the Gaspé shrew.

The birds

Wherever you are, whatever you do, you will always see and hear birds there. The Trail has recorded over 140 species of birds due to the diversity of habitats in this mountain environment.

The common pipit, the gray-cheeked thrush and the horned lark are the most representative species occupying the high peaks. Some of the more spectacular birds include the Golden Eagle, Harlequin Duck, Grouse, and Black-backed Woodpecker.

Amphibians and reptiles

More discreet, these small animals can be heard or seen quite easily in the spring (during the breeding period) and during the hot and rainy nights of summer. The American toad is the most abundant species, but you can also find the striped snake, several species of frogs and salamanders including the spotted salamander.

The fish

One of the reasons for the creation of the Parc de la Gaspésie in 1937 was the preservation of Atlantic salmon from the Sainte-Anne river. In addition to this species, let us mention the presence of brook trout (speckled trout), lake trout (gray trout) and grayling (red trout). This last species is special because the few individuals present in certain lakes bordering the Appalachian Trail are the remains of a population dating from the end of the last glaciation.

 International Appalachian Trail of Quebec

 968 Avenue du Phare O, Matane, (Québec) G4W 1V7

 Tél. 418-560-4642 | Email : infosiaquebec@gmail.com 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

© 2020 by Alexis Turcotte- Noël and Isabelle Paquet

Faune et Flore

Les mammifères

Le caribou des bois est l'attrait faunique majeur du Sentier International des Appalaches du Québec. La présence de caribous au sud du fleuve Saint-Laurent est exceptionnelle, car les quelque deux-cents caribous sont les derniers représentants des hardes qui habitaient jadis le Sud du Québec et le Nord des États-Unis.

Cette population a subi beaucoup de perturbations au cours de son histoire. À la création du Parc national de la Gaspésie en 1937, on comptait environ 1 000 caribous. Au fil des années, de nombreux facteurs tels que la prédation, la maladie et les activités humaines peuvent être à l'origine d'une baisse de population.

Lors d’une randonnée en montagne, nous vous suggérons fortement de rester dans les sentiers, afin de protéger les caribous de la Gaspésie. Nous souhaitons donner toutes les chances  à cette espèce vulnérable. Le caribou ne jouit pas d'une bonne vue. Cependant, il a l'ouïe très développée, il est donc préférable de l'observer à distance et sans bouger. Animal curieux, il se laissera admirer; ainsi, vous aurez satisfait votre curiosité et la sienne sans avoir dérangé nos hôtes dans leur habitat fragile.

Le Sentier International des Appalaches se distingue aussi comme étant le seul endroit au Québec où l'on retrouve nos trois cervidés: le cerf de Virginie, l'orignal et le caribou des bois.

Dans certains secteurs du sentier, on remarque une concentration peu commune d'orignaux. En effet, on observe la plus forte densité d'orignaux au Québec, soit environ 2 orignaux par km2. Ce nombre important est dû en grande partie à 2 facteurs : une absence de chasse sur le territoire du parc depuis 1937 et une faible prédation chez ce dernier.

Pendant la belle saison (printemps et été), on peut observer les orignaux en bordure des plans d'eau au début et en fin de journée. Certains aménagements sont prévus à cette fin, tel l'observatoire du lac Paul.

Il est aussi possible d’apercevoir l'ours noir, le coyote, le renard roux, le castor et une espèce de très petite taille parmi les plus rares et les moins connues au Canada, la musaraigne de Gaspé.

Les oiseaux

Où que l'on soit, quoi que l'on fasse, on y verra et y entendra toujours des oiseaux. Plus de 140 espèces d’oiseaux se trouvent dans ce milieu montagneux grâce à la diversité des habitats.


Le Pipit commun, la Grive à joues grises et l'Alouette cornue sont les espèces les plus représentatives occupant les hauts sommets. Parmi les oiseaux plus spectaculaires, mentionnons l'Aigle doré, le Canard arlequin, le Tétras du Canada et le Pic à dos noir.

Les amphibiens et les reptiles

Plus discrets, ces petits animaux peuvent être entendus ou vus assez facilement au printemps (pendant la période de reproduction) et au cours des nuits chaudes et pluvieuses de l'été. Le crapaud américain est l'espèce la plus abondante des amphibiens. Durant les randonnées, on peut aussi rencontrer la couleuvre rayée, plusieurs espèces de grenouilles et des salamandres dont la salamandre tachetée.

Les poissons

Une des raisons de la création du Parc national de la Gaspésie en 1937 était la préservation du saumon atlantique de la rivière Sainte-Anne. Outre cette espèce, mentionnons la présence de l'omble de fontaine (truite mouchetée), du touladis (truite grise) et de l'ombre chevalier (truite rouge). Cette dernière espèce est particulière, car les quelques individus présents dans certains lacs bordant le Sentier des Appalaches sont les vestiges d'une population datant de la fin de la dernière glaciation.

Sentier International des Appalaches - Québec

 968 Avenue du Phare O, Matane, (Québec) G4W 1V7

 Tél. 418-560-4642 | Courriel : infosiaquebec@gmail.com 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

© 2020 par Alexis Turcotte-Noël et Isabelle Paquet Collaboration Serge Métral