Great Crossing Passport

The legendary Grande Traversée Passport is intended for experienced hikers who wish to complete the complete crossing of the 650 km Quebec section of the International Appalachian Trail;  from Matapédia to Cap-Gaspé, and this, in a single long hike!

Please note that departures for the Grande Traversée are possible from June 24, 2022 to August 25, 2022. In addition, for security reasons and sporadic checks of your long-distance hiking itinerary, carrying a cell phone or satellite telecommunications device is now mandatory. If you are the holder of the predecessor version  au Passeport Grande Traversée, the GR A1 Passport, click here .

You are invited to read the following information before clicking on the reservation link at the bottom of this page.

Reservation of accommodation

 

Accommodations at SIA-QC campsites

The Grande Traversée Passport is a flexible accommodation product depending on your route and the type of campsite you want to practice. In other words, when booking, for each campsite at which you plan to stay, you will have to choose your place either in a refuge, in a shelter, in a camping platform or in camping on the ground. ​Once there, you will have to stick to what you chose as the type of accommodation when you made your reservation.

When booking, do not hesitate to vary your choice of accommodation, because this is how you will have the chance to experience what is beautiful to live with each of them!

Accommodation in the Gaspésie National Park

Note that in the 4th of the 7 sections of the Trail, the Parc national de la Gaspésie, the SIA-QC only has places on a camping platform and in ground camping. This means that if you wish to sleep in a refuge or shelter, you must make the reservation directly with SÉPAQ.

Also note that it is mandatory to obtain your Annual Québec National Parks Card from SÉPAQ since it is required when crossing this section.

Accommodation in the Haute-Gaspésie and Côte-de-Gaspé sections

In the 5th and 6th sections of the SIA-QC, which are respectively Haute-Gaspésie and Côte-de-Gaspé, you will have to alternate between accommodations on the SIA-QC campsites and accommodations in private campsites or in lodges, hotels and motels.

 

The IAT-QC campsites are indeed too far apart for you to realistically get to the next one in a single day's walk. This is why, on certain occasions, you will have to stay in private campsites, hotels, motels or B&Bs surrounding the Sentier. This passage is part of the experience available to you! So if you feel like it, don't hesitate to let yourself be intoxicated by the warm atmosphere that reigns in these villages of the Coast!

A Grande Traversée with or without a tent?

It is possible to do the Grande Traversée of the 650 km of the Quebec section of the International Appalachian Trail with or without a tent. 

Carrying out your Grande Traversée without a tent means   that you will stay in the refuges, shelters, lodges, hotels and motels that will be found all along your route.

From the 1st to the 3rd section (Avignon, Vallée de la Matapédia and Réserve faunique de Matane) all campsites include at least one refuge or shelter that you can reserve through our reservation platform.

For the 4th section, Parc national de la Gaspésie, as mentioned above, you will have to book your nights in a refuge or shelter directly with SÉPAQ.

For the 5th and 6th sections of the Trail, i.e. Haute-Gaspésie and Côte-de-Gaspé, all IAT-QC campsites include either a refuge or a shelter that you can reserve through our reservation platform . For these sections, you will have to alternate between the SIA-QC campsites and the lodges, hotels and motels in the villages you will pass through along your route.

Finally, for the 7th and last section of the SIA-QC, Forillon National Park, there are enough campsites and they all have a shelter available for reservation directly with Parks Canada at www.reservation. pc.gc.ca. _

Début de la Grande Traversée du SIA-QC
forillon 4_edited.jpg
Grande Traversée du SIA-QC complétée

The stages of good planning  of your Grande Traversée

In the following table, you will find the steps as well as the resources and tools that will allow you to cover all the elements necessary for the proper planning of your Grande Traversée of the Quebec section of the International Appalachian Trail.

By following these steps you can be confident that you have left nothing to chance in addition to having the assurance of being ready and ready for the great adventure that awaits you; the Great Crossing of the International Appalachian Trail!

Finally, before clicking here   to make a telephone appointment to make your accommodation reservations with a customer experience agent from SIA-QC_cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b- 136bad5cf58d_ please read   the Terms of reservations and regulations for the use of the Trail and its accommodation .

Passeport Grande Traversée

Le légendaire Passeport Grande Traversée s'adresse aux grands randonneurs expérimentés qui désirent réaliser la traversée complète des 650 kilomètres de la section québécoise du Sentier International des Appalaches;  de Matapédia à Cap-Gaspé, et ce, en une seule et unique longue randonnée!

Prenez note que les départs pour la Grande Traversée sont possibles du 24 juin 2022 au 25 août 2022. De plus, pour des raisons de sécurité et de vérifications sporadiques de votre itinéraire de longue randonnée, le fait de porter avec soi un téléphone cellulaire ou un appareil de télécommunication par satellite est désormais obligatoire.

Réservation des hébergements

 

Les hébergements des sites de camping du SIA-QC

Le Passeport Grande Traversée est un produit d'hébergement modulable en fonction de votre itinéraire et du type de camping que vous voulez pratiquer. Autrement dit, lors de la réservation, pour chaque site de camping auquel vous comptez séjourner, vous aurez à choisir votre place soit en refuge, en abri, en plateforme de camping ou en camping au sol. ​Un fois sur place, vous aurez à vous en tenir à ce que vous avez choisi comme type d'hébergement lors de votre réservation.

En réservant, n'hésitez pas à varier votre choix d'hébergement, car c'est ainsi que vous aurez la chance d'expérimenter ce qu'il y a de beau à vivre avec chacun d'eux!

Les hébergements dans le parc National de la Gaspésie

Sachez que dans la 4ème des 7 sections du Sentier, le Parc national de la Gaspésie, le SIA-QC dispose uniquement de places en plateforme de camping et en camping au sol. Ce qui veut dire que si vous désirez dormir en refuge ou en abri, vous devez effectuer la réservation de ceux-ci directement auprès de la SÉPAQ.

Prenez également note qu'il est obligatoire de vous procurer votre Carte annuelle Parc Nationaux du Québec auprès de la SÉPAQ puisqu'elle est requise lors de la traversée de cette section.

Les hébergements des sections de la Haute-Gaspésie et de la Côte-de-Gaspé

Dans la 5ème et la 6ème sections du SIA-QC, qui sont respectivement la Haute-Gaspésie et la Côte-de-Gaspé, vous aurez à alterner entre les hébergements des sites de camping du SIA-QC et les hébergements en camping privés ou en gîtes, hôtels et motels.

 

Les sites de camping du SIA-QC y sont en effet trop distancés l'un de l'autre pour que vous puissiez vous rendre réalistement au suivant en une seule journée de marche. C'est pourquoi, à certaines occasions, vous aurez à séjourner dans les camping privés, les hôtels, les motels ou les gîtes environnants le Sentier. Ce passage fait partie de l'expérience qui s'offre à vous! Alors si l'envie vous prend, n'hésitez pas à vous laisser enivrer de l'ambiance chaleureuse qui règne dans ces villages de la Côte!

Une Grande Traversée avec ou sans tente?

Il est possible d'effectuer la Grande Traversée des 650 km de la section québécoise du Sentier International des Appalaches autant avec que sans tente. 

Effectuer votre Grande Traversée sans tente, signifie que vous séjournerez dans les refuges, abris, gîtes, hôtels et motels qui se trouverons tout le long de votre parcours.

De la 1ère à la 3ème section (Avignon, Vallée de la Matapédia et réserve faunique de Matane) tous les sites de camping comprennent au moins un refuge ou un abri que vous pouvez réserver au moyen de notre plateforme de réservation.

​Pour la 4e section, le parc national de la Gaspésie, tel que mentionné un peu plus haut, vous aurez à effectuer la réservation de vos nuitées en refuge ou en abri directement auprès de la SÉPAQ.

Pour la 5ème et la 6ème sections du Sentier, soient la Haute-Gaspésie et la Côte-de-Gaspé, tous les sites de camping du SIA-QC comprennent soit un refuge ou un abri que vous pouvez réserver au moyen de notre plateforme de réservation. Pour ces sections, vous devrez alterner entre les sites de camping du SIA-QC et les gîtes, hôtels et motels des villages que vous traverserez le long de votre parcours.

Finalement, pour la 7ème et dernière section du SIA-QC, le parc national Forillon, les sites de camping y sont en quantité suffisante et ceux-ci disposent tous d'un abri disponible pour réservation directement auprès de Parc Canada au

www.reservation.pc.gc.ca.

Début de la Grande Traversée du SIA-QC
forillon 4_edited.jpg
Grande Traversée du SIA-QC complétée

Les étapes d'une bonne planification de votre Grande Traversée

Vous trouverez dans le tableau qui suit les étapes ainsi que les ressources et les outils qui vous permettront de couvrir l'ensemble des éléments nécessaires à la bonne planification de votre Grande Traversée de la section québécoise du Sentier International des Appalaches.

En suivant ces étapes vous pouvez être confiant et confiante de ne rien avoir laisser au hasard en plus d'avoir l'assurance d'être fin prêt et prête pour la belle aventure qui s'offre à vous; la Grande Traversée du Sentier International des Appalaches!

Finalement, avant de cliquez ici pour prendre un rendez-vous téléphonique afin d'effectuer vos réservations d'hébergement avec un agent de l'expérience client du SIA-QC veuillez prendre connaissance  des Modalités de réservations et règlements d'usage du Sentier et de ses hébergements.